Heirs

What are the steps and process to assert my rights to the estate ?

From the contractualisation with Sogeni to the receipt of funds from the succession, a process must be followed in which we support you and coordinate all operations on your behalf.

Signature of the “basic agreement” and “specific authority”

When an heir has been found, Sogeni contacts him or her to submit a basic agreement. By this agreement, Sogeni undertakes to provide the heir with proof of his rights in the succession which she proposes to disclose upon official acceptance of the heir status by the concerned administrations and / or funds holders. With the signing of this agreement and a specific power to carry out certain administrative steps, the heir mandates Sogeni to officially establish his rights to the inheritance. The basic agreement also sets Sogeni’s remuneration for the services rendered, stating that the latter will be due only if the succession is positive and accepted.

The signature of the basic agreement and the specific authority is therefore the starting point of the process allowing the heir to assert his rights.

NB: in the particular case of leftovers or assets that had been omitted in the division of an already settled estate, the heir will be presented directly a revelation agreement.

Submission of the heir file to the authorities in charge

With the mandate given by the heir, Sogeni will be able to build a file to have him recognized as a beneficiary of the vacant estate. The file will contain in particular all official documents proving the relationship between the heir and the deceased.

Succession case details disclosure

Once the file has been accepted by the authorities and, if applicable, after the administrative deadline set for heirs to declare themselves has expired, Sogeni will be able to reveal the identity of the deceased to the heir. At this stage the assets of the estate are generally not yet known to Sogeni.

Inventory disclosure and acceptance or repudiation of the succession

Some time after the expiry of the administrative deadline, the authorities shall disclose the inventory showing the assets and debts of the estate. Two alternatives are then available :

  • Acceptance of the succession and application for the heir certificate, in case of a positive net balance of the estate.
  • Repudiation of the succession, in case of a negative net estate.

In the event of a repudiation of the succession, Sogeni’s mandate shall end and all costs incurred up to that time shall be borne by Sogeni. The heir shall not inherit any debt or incur any costs.

Estate liquidation and remittance of funds to the heirs

In case of a positive estate, the process continues with all steps of liquidation and settlement of the succession. In this phase Sogeni is responsible for carrying out or coordinating all operations in the interest of the heir(s) she represents. Having received a power of attorney from the latter for these purposes, she ensures that the partition of the succession is calculated in accordance with the applicable law and that the estate is settled in full compliance with the tax and judicial authorities.

Once the estate is wound up, each heir receives his share of the inheritance, less the inheritance tax and the remuneration of Sogeni for the services provided, according to the rates set out in the “basic agreement” or the “revelation agreement”, whichever applying to that particular inheritance case.

Héritiers

Quelles sont les étapes et modalités pour faire valoir mes droits sur l’héritage ?

De la contractualisation avec Sogeni à la réception des fonds vous revenant de la succession, un processus devra être suivi dans lequel nous vous accompagnons et coordonnons toutes les opérations.

Signature de l’accord de principe et pouvoir spécifique

Lorsqu’un héritier a été retrouvé, Sogeni se met en relation avec lui pour lui soumettre un accord de principe. Par cet accord, Sogeni s’engage à apporter à l’héritier la preuve de ses droits dans la succession qu’elle se propose de lui révéler. Avec la signature de cet accord et d’un pouvoir spécifique pour effectuer certaines démarches administratives, l’héritier mandate Sogeni pour établir officiellement sa qualité d’ayant droit. L’accord de principe fixe également la rémunération de Sogeni pour les services rendus, étant précisé que celle-ci sera due uniquement si la succession est positive et acceptée.

La signature de l’accord de principe et du pouvoir spécifique est donc le point de départ du processus permettant à l’héritier de faire valoir ses droits.

NB: dans le cas particulier de reliquats ou d’actifs qui avaient été omis dans le partage d’une succession déjà réglée, l’héritier se verra soumettre directement un contrat de révélation.

Soumission du dossier d’héritier aux autorités

Forte du mandat confié par l’héritier, Sogeni va pouvoir constituer un dossier pour faire reconnaitre sa qualité d’ayant droit par l’administration compétente. Le dossier contiendra notamment tous les actes officiels prouvant les liens familiaux entre l’héritier et le défunt.

Révélation

Une fois le dossier accepté par les autorités et après expiration, le cas échéant, du délai imparti aux héritiers prétendant à la succession pour s’annoncer, Sogeni sera en mesure de révéler à l’héritier l’identité du défunt. À ce stade l’actif de la succession n’est en général pas encore connu de Sogeni.

Divulgation de l’inventaire et acceptation ou répudiation de la succession

Quelque temps après l’expiration du délai administratif, les autorités divulguent l’inventaire qui fait état des actifs passifs de la succession. Deux alternatives s’offrent alors :

  • Acceptation de la succession et demande du certificat d’héritier, en cas de succession nette positive
  • Répudiation de la succession, en cas de succession nette négative.

En cas de répudiation de la succession, le mandat de Sogeni prend fin et tous les frais engagés jusque-là restent à sa charge. L’ayant droit n’hérite d’aucune dette et ne subit aucun frais.

Liquidation de la succession et versement des sommes dues aux héritiers

En cas de succession positive, le processus se poursuit avec toutes les démarches de liquidation et de partage de la succession. Dans cette phase Sogeni se charge d’effectuer ou de coordonner toutes les opérations dans l’intérêt du ou des héritiers qu’elle représente. Ayant reçu procuration de ces derniers à ces fins, elle s’assure que le partage soit conforme au droit applicable et que la succession soit réglée en toute conformité avec les administrations fiscale et judiciaire.

Une fois la succession liquidée, chaque héritier reçoit sa quote part d’héritage, déduction faite de l’impôt sur les successions et de la rémunération de Sogeni pour les services fournis, selon les tarifs fixés dans l’accord de principe ou, le cas échéant, le contrat de révélation.